Where?

Beach, mountain, forest, or somewhere else entirely?

Is yes an appropriate answer? I would be happy with any of those locales. I’m sure people who know me would be surprised that Disney is not the answer to this Daily Prompt question on The Daily Post blog. To be honest it was my first thought but it felt too easy. Although I would enjoy another visit to Disney, and eventually I would love to live closer I wanted to explore this question differently.

When my kids were little we would spend a week each summer at a cottage on Oneida Lake, NY. The actual cottage was one my wife’s family use to rent when she was growing up. The same owner still lived in the main house and remembered her family. Oneida Lake is only 30 minutes from our house so it wasn’t a grand vacation but it always was a fantastic time. Days spent playing on the beach and swimming in the lake were followed by trips to the Sylvan Beach amusement park. I’ve shared a few sand castle building pictures from those days in a previous post: Far From Normal.

When the kids were older we ventured farther from home. We traveled to Old Orchard Beach, ME one summer on advice from a few friends at work. We fell in love with the place. Numerous vacations were spent relaxing on the beach and enjoying the local scenery. The light houses still hold a fascination for me and to this day I plan on returning again to put my new photographer skills to the test. I would also love to travel farther north along the Maine coast and visit the Acadia Nation Park. I have seen some wonderful images from that park and I am sure I could find plenty to explore.

I’ve spoken previous about growing up on a farm (Buffalo Nickel). I mentioned how I use to love spending tie in the fall hunting, but it wasn’t just when I was hunting that I would spend my days in the woods. I practically lived out there. There were trails through the woods surrounding the farm. I could ride my bike a half mile up one road, enter the trails and ride through the woods coming out on a perpendicular road at the opposite corner of the farm. I would ride back up to the trail start and do it all over again.

The woods have always held a special place with me. The serenity found deep inside a forest always brings out the kid in me. Playing hide -n- seek with friends, following a creek to find the best places to try and build stone dams. That one pond that you were not suppose to swim in but on a hot summer day it was the best place to be. You just always had to be ready to grab your clothes and run.

And now I love grabbing the camera and going for a walk through the woods behind my house. There is so much to explore. So many little images that can be captured. The way a leaf catches the sunlight or the way water tumbles or the rocks in a creek bed. Every time I go for those walks I find new images to bring home with me.

Winter Creek
Winter Creek
Rocks and Water
Rocks and Water
Standout
Standout

Up until a few years ago I really would not have had much to say about mountains. We have lived at the foothills of the Adirondack State Park for over twenty years but the best I can claim is traveling to Old Forge, NY to visit the amusement park there with the kids. I suppose I could also fall back on my Disney fondness and mention the numerous Disney mountains but I’ll spare you this time.

In 2011 we finally made the time to hike up Bald Mountain, just north of Old Forge, NY. We had been saying for years that we should do this. Friends at work were always talking about the hike up the mountain and the views from the fire tower at the top. It just seemed like we were better at making excuses than plans. I wish we had done it sooner. It was amazing! The climb is not difficult at all. Everyone was right, the view is fantastic. We missed peak foliage in the fall by about a week but it was still great. This past year the weather was less than cooperating but I already have it on the to-do list for next year (multiple times, no reason to just wait until the fall!).

Lake View
Lake View
Another View
Another View
Fire Tower
Fire Tower

The reason that I would also select mountains is due to my photography. I have been exposed (pun intended!) to the most incredible images from across the US and the world. I want to explore these rediscovered areas with my camera. I especially have fallen in love with Yosemite National Park. I became captured by the beauty of that park as I read about Ansel Adams. I then checked out numerous books of Adams’ images from the library (they are now on my wish list at Amazon). Wow! is the best I can do right now.

So, my answer to today’s daily prompt question is still Yes! to all three choices. What is your choice?

Author: Mike

I'm an Engineer most of the time but if I can sneak away from the job I enjoy visiting/reading about/learning everything Disney, playing video games as long as I can stop and think about them, reading science fiction and my newest fascination is photography.

7 thoughts on “Where?”

Leave a comment