We have to grow up?

We have to grow up? When was this rule implemented? Was it passed by majority rule? Not fair! Recount!

Today’s Daily Prompt on The Daily Post is All Grown Up.

When was the first time you really felt like a grown up (if ever)?

To be honest I drift between feeling like a grown up and feeling like a kid. I certainly do not act like a grown up when I can get away with it. I have to have fun. I make my own fun at work to the dismay of quite a few people. I am that little kid inside everyone. Most people think they do not have to let that kid out, but I have a hard time keeping him restrained.

I remember turning 33. It is not your normal birthday that strikes fear in peoples lives. For me it was the realization that I was not as old as I thought my dad was when I was 12. My parents are only 21 years older than me but they seemed so much older than I felt when I turned 33. To this day I have to think about how old I am when people ask. It is just a number, it doesn’t mean anything to me.

To be fair, I did feel like a grown up on the day my oldest graduated high school. And I know this year when the youngest graduates I am going feel that way again. But in the back of my mind I’m thinking… woohoo! Time for me to play! Kids out of the house away at college lets me have more time to do those ‘kid’ things I want to do.

When the day does eventually arrive when I always feel like a grown up I hope it is after a very long life of living like a kid..

Author: Mike

I'm an Engineer most of the time but if I can sneak away from the job I enjoy visiting/reading about/learning everything Disney, playing video games as long as I can stop and think about them, reading science fiction and my newest fascination is photography.

2 thoughts on “We have to grow up?”

Leave a comment