Far From Normal

I’m trying to play a little catch up since I was gone for 4 days with limited time and internet access. Yesterday’s Daily Prompt on The Daily Post was Far From Normal or more specifically:

Many of us think of our lives as boringly normal, while others live the high life. Take a step back, and take a look at your life as an outsider might. Now, tell us at least six unique, exciting, or just plain odd things about yourself.

I’ve never really examined myself with this thought in mind before. I feel normal, but I know I act not-so-normal at times. I’m the one at work stacking the empty boxes in the office next to mine just so I can knock them over (my friend Pete doesn’t mind, he knows me by now, it is his office I do this in!). I’m almost 47 but describe myself as a BIG KID that never really grew up. OK, let me think…

  1. Wait! That story about the boxes is number one! I can’t just work straight through the day. I have to play a little to get through it…
  2. I make up songs about my daughter. They are not usually very flattering. It really drives her nuts, but I have heard her singing them at times.
  3. Some of my best thinking is done in the car. I don’t plan it that way but the mind seems to do its own thing. I have gotten home before and can’t remember driving most of the roads. I guess I was on auto-pilot, which is a little freaky.
  4. I’m a big Disney fan. Last year I managed to go three times. My home and office are littered with Disney stuff. I even managed to scrounge up 5 dry erase boards at work and hung them in the hallway outside my office just so I could draw Disney characters on them. BTW – 3 of the 5 boards are 4′ x 6′ so I have lots of room to draw…
  5. Even in this modern computer age I will use the vi editor whenever I can. I can program so much faster with it.
  6. I love to build sand castles! I still have two HUGE buckets of sand castle building equipment (OK, toys). When we went on vacations to the beach I would spend hours building these elaborate sand castles. They would cover over a hundred square feet when I was on a roll.

Well, either you abandoned this post before you reached the end or you were brave enough to find out all six items. Not sure how normal or non-normal any of this actually is because it is me. And to me it is just they way I am…

About Mike

I'm an Engineer most of the time but if I can sneak away from the job I enjoy visiting/reading about/learning everything Disney, playing video games as long as I can stop and think about them, reading science fiction and my newest fascination is photography.
This entry was posted in Daily Prompt, thought, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Far From Normal

  1. Pingback: DROWN INSIDE ME « hastywords

  2. Pingback: Where? | Ramblin' On

  3. Those sandcastles are super impressive! I really need to up my game next time I go to the beach…

Leave a Reply

