Childhood Revisited

Today’s question:

Sure, you turned out pretty good, but is there anything you wish had been different about your childhood? If you have kids, is there anything you wish were different for them?

Check out the original post at The Daily Post: Daily Prompt.

I grew up quite the introvert and still to this day I spend a lot of my time in my own little worlds. I like to read, I play video games and love to explore with my camera. This doesn’t preclude my current social behavior. I often tell people upon meeting them that there are a few subjects they should avoid unless they have a couple hours to hear me ramble on. I am far from shy or timid in most situations. But that has not always been my way. The thing about my childhood that I wish I could revisit would be the 1st grade…

I was a holy terror in kindergarten! My friends and I had a lot of fun causing the teacher to have her hands full keeping our attention on school when required. But she knew how to handle us and did not stifle our play time. I survived and managed to learn what I needed. I would not be so lucky in 1st grade.

Don’t get me wrong, I liked my first grade teacher but she was not as adept at dealing with me as my kindergarten teacher. I spent the majority of 1st grade with my desk facing the wall, away from the rest of the classroom! Ha ha ha. It worked for the teacher as it managed to wrangle in my social behavior but the side effects on me lasted well into college. I worked very hard not to be noticed. I learned I needed to behave but the pendulum swung too far the opposite direction.

I had friends in school and was not an outcast but I was only a glimmer of the shining social terror I started out as. It really wasn’t until late in college and eventually at my first job that I was able to overcome this behavior. I often wonder if I would have turned out different or had different experiences if I had continued on my original path? Who knows, it isn’t something I dwell on but the thought does pop up every know and then.

About Mike

I'm an Engineer most of the time but if I can sneak away from the job I enjoy visiting/reading about/learning everything Disney, playing video games as long as I can stop and think about them, reading science fiction and my newest fascination is photography.
This entry was posted in Daily Prompt, thought and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Childhood Revisited

  1. Pingback: Daily Prompt: No Childhood Revisit Here | My Blog

  2. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Childhood Revisited … It was not the Brady Bunch | Fasting, Food and other musings by determined34

  3. Pingback: Daily Prompt – Childhood Revisited – Let’s get inspired and also revisit food related disasters from our childhood! | toofulltowrite (I've started so I'll finish)

Leave a Reply

