eReader or Paperback?

Six months!  It has been six months since I have done anything with this blog.  I should be embarrassed! I do have a good excuse though… I have been focusing on my photography blog, which, has been growing quite nicely. Anyway, on to the topic at hand.

eReader vs Paperback

Erica on the The Daily Post has issued the weekly writing challenge: Weekly Writing Challenge: Mind the Gap to be this: How do you prefer to read, with an eReader like a Kindle or Nook, or with an old school paperback in hand?

I answered the poll question on the post with ‘Paperback’ but I felt I needed to qualify my answer. I am a book person, simple as that. I still have the first books I purchased myself over 35 years ago. I would save my allowance and money I made cutting lawns to purchase sci-fi paperbacks in which to loose myself. I was hooked, I was a bookworm.

Libraries were a weekly trip for me. I devoured everything on space, model rockets, slot car racing, my favorite television shows, etc. If I couldn’t afford the book I went to the library and borrowed it. Sometimes, even though I already read the book, I would buy my favorites when I saved up enough.

In recent years I have become a fan (fanatic if you prefer) of Disney. Not just the parks but the man and his company. I own more books on that subject than I probably should admit. lol But I need to have the book in hand! I want to see the pictures and feel the weight in my hands as I read. I want to be able to peruse my collection. To look over what I have gathered, what I have read and what still awaits me to read.

Even more recently I have become something of a photographer, well, maybe a better way to say it is I have taken up photography as a hobby. A very fulfilling hobby that I never imagined would consume me as much as it has. Here is where I needed to explain my original answer to the question…

In the photography genre I have split my approach. I still buy books. I still go to the library and borrow books but I have found there is a great online eBook collection of resources that I just can’t pass up. When a favorite photographer publishes a small eBook on a subject and it only costs $5, how can I refuse? When there is a very specific topic I would like to learn, the best solution is typically an eBook. The cost is minimal, the read is quick and then I am off exploring and experimenting. For me it is win/win…

The other area of electronic reading that I have found to be very useful is electronic versions of magazines. I can carry my whole months allotment on my tablet and read an article during lunch or while waiting at the dentist’s office. I find it very convenient and actually allows me to read more which is always a good thing!

So, even though I answered ‘paperback’ it wasn’t the whole story. I will always be a book person and not a week goes by that I don’t find myself driving to the local bookstore or library, but I have discovered the convenience of an eBook and I have to say I am enjoying that as well.

About Mike

I'm an Engineer most of the time but if I can sneak away from the job I enjoy visiting/reading about/learning everything Disney, playing video games as long as I can stop and think about them, reading science fiction and my newest fascination is photography.
This entry was posted in books, DPChallenge, thought and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to eReader or Paperback?

  1. Pingback: Bookshelves and Scrapbooks | Beyond Beauty Tips

Leave a Reply

