Small Television Rant

The state of television’s decline has been bugging me for a few years now.  I don’t watch a lot of television, it just isn’t worth it to me.  Now I can sit in front of the screen when I want to let my mind float away because of the numbing boredom but when I want to be entertained it is almost impossible to find a solution.

Network television is a laughable joke.  There is only one or two shows I would sit down and watch (NCIS, I’m looking at you).  Most of the entertaining shows I watch are not on one of the major networks.  I’m tired of reality shows, singing or dancing competitions, cooking competitions and the general sad comedies that fall back to the childish humor I thought was funny when I was twelve.  

I actually liked Big Bang Theory when it first aired and even into the third season but somewhere toward the end of that season it took a drastic left turn.  I try to watch hoping the nightmare will end but it just hasn’t found it’s groove again.  I know some peple might see the show as an insult to the technical, scientific, smart sterotype but it is me and when it started it made me laugh.  Not any more!

At least I have my DVR recording some entertainment this summer.  Both USA Network and TNT have shows worth watching, at least for me.  They all border on the ‘it wouldn’t/couldn’t happen that way in real life’, but at least they are entertaining.  Right now I’m enjoying; Burn Notice, White Collar, Covert Affairs, and Leverage.  They’ll provide small distractions I can call upon from the DVR when I have had enough of everything else…

About Mike

I'm an Engineer most of the time but if I can sneak away from the job I enjoy visiting/reading about/learning everything Disney, playing video games as long as I can stop and think about them, reading science fiction and my newest fascination is photography.
This entry was posted in television, thought and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

