Books and Their Creation

It sure has been a long time since I last put words to post on this blog.  I mentioned yesterday on my photography blog that I wished it was due to something cool or important but actually I just haven’t been feeling the need to speak out.  Anyone who knows me understands that is a rare event when you get me talking about a favorite subject.  I’m hoping this will be the start of something more regular…

Yesterday I explored the new book creation module in Lightroom 4.  I have been getting requests from family to put something together to show off my pictures (family is always a nice ego boost).  I suppose I should have done a little more research but with the tool already available in a software I am familiar with I decided to jump in with both feet.  The service associated with the book module is blurb, so I created an account and starting working on putting a book together.

Front and back cover for first book.


I decided to start with an easy subject for me, Disney, specifically our last vacation to Walt Disney World.  I already had pictures processed and ready to use which was probably harder than the actual creation of the book.  The Lightroom module was easy and very intuitive.  Of course, it doesn’t help with picture layout, order or the story I was trying to tell (which ended up being just a wandering of the parks).  I threw something together in a few hours and sent it off to blurb to be created.  The book should be here in a few weeks.  I’m keeping my fingers crossed…

UPDATE: I received my book last Wednesday!  I was very excited to see it but nervous that the money I spent would be wasted if the pictures didn’t print well.  The book looked great!  Now I have to learn some book layout skills so the next one doesn’t look like a picture book put together by a 1st grade class.  The only issue was the book was creased in shipping…

Book Damage

I will say that the customer service at Blurb was great!  AFter speaking with them and sending this picture they are re-printing the book and shipping it to me for free.  Definitely will be working on another book through Blurb.

About Mike

I'm an Engineer most of the time but if I can sneak away from the job I enjoy visiting/reading about/learning everything Disney, playing video games as long as I can stop and think about them, reading science fiction and my newest fascination is photography.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

