PS3

PS3 hard drive crashed yesterday.  I really think it was my own fault.  I treated it like a computer and tried to multi-task too many things at once.  Should have known better.

At first I thought it was a major catastrophe, but really just a couple of game saves is all I really lost.  I had just started the Dragon Age: Origins: Awakenings expansion utilizing a completed save file from the original game.  I was really enjoying it, so I have lost about 12 hours of game play on that.  The bright side, if I continue to look at it that way, is I now get to play through Dragon Age: Origins with a different character, race and class.  This gives me a chance to see a different part of the game and unlock some additional achievements.

Going through the process of restoring the system did highlight a few things I never considered before.  The current generation of game systems are way more sophisticated than my old Sega Genesis or Sony PSOne.  Because of this I need to treat them differently.  There are options to save data to external devices and make complete backups of the hard drive.  I now need to make sure I get that on a schedule similar to my PC.  Need to go buy another external USB drive now.

About Mike

I'm an Engineer most of the time but if I can sneak away from the job I enjoy visiting/reading about/learning everything Disney, playing video games as long as I can stop and think about them, reading science fiction and my newest fascination is photography.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

