Disney’s D23

Disney’s D23 is the official community for Disney fans. I was very excited about it a year ago when it was introduced. I didn’t even hesitate to join although it was a little expensive. I was very happy when the membership materials arrived and I felt as though as I was part of something special. I enjoy the quarterly magazine and I constantly visit the ‘offical’ website.

My disappointment with being a member is that I live in Upstate NY and do not have a chance to hop to either Disneyland or Walt Disney World for an event. I was hoping there would be year long benefits that I could utilize when I visit the parks. Instead I have to plan a special visit to attend one of the events. No, don’t get me wrong, I think the special events planned by Disney are truly worth attending, it just isn’t possible for me.

When my notice for renewal arrived I thought long and hard about it, but in the end I decided to not renew my membership. I can still get the excellent magazine at my local book store and attend the events vicariously through the numerous podcasts and web pages. Hopefully there will still be a D23 community when I make the move to Florida in a few years. It will then be worth it to join as I will be able to schedule the short trips to Orlando to attend an event.

About Mike

I'm an Engineer most of the time but if I can sneak away from the job I enjoy visiting/reading about/learning everything Disney, playing video games as long as I can stop and think about them, reading science fiction and my newest fascination is photography.
This entry was posted in D23, Disney. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

