Getting Lucky in a Book Store

Went to an outlet mall the other day with my wife. Every couple of months we take a short drive to the outlet mall in the Finger Lakes region of Upstate NY. There are a few stores we like to hit but it is just as much about spending the day together as it is about shopping. Now I don’t know about anyone else but I miss the days when every mall had a bookstore. Seems to me it is all about the big super-sized bookstores today and the malls have lost one of the reasons for me to visit.

Well, we were on the last leg of our trip around this outdoor, mall when I started pointing at the sign announcing the stores in the section we were walking toward. There it was third from the top, ‘Book Warehouse.’ Not a big, super-sized book store but a small, have to look through every shelf, kind of book store where your chances of finding something you wanted were slim. I like going into these little stores because my luck over the years has tended toward the good side. This day I improved my stats…

We walk into the store and there sitting on the top of the first display is ‘Paper Dreams: The Art And Artists Of Disney Storyboards’ by John Canemaker. People didn’t get out of my way fast enough. I hope I wasn’t rude to anyone, but I don’t honestly remember. I had been wanting to add this book to my collection for some time but hadn’t pushed through my ‘thriftness’ or cheapness as my wife would put it. I started leafing through the book trying to soak in as much as I could while that debate about spending money raged in my head.

It was then that my wife was tapping me on the shoulder. She had another Disney related book in her hands, ‘The Art and Flair of Mary Blair’ also by John Canemaker. The day seemed to get even better. I tucked the first book under my arm as I reached out for the book in her hand. Yep, another one from my wish list. It only took looking at a couple of the pages to add this book to the other under my arm. I now saw a third book that I just had to pick up an examine.

The last book I found was ‘The Art of Bolt’ by Mark Cotta Vaz. Know I don’t typically purchase many of ‘The Art of…’ books, but this one had some really nice images and I thought ‘in for a penny, in for a pound.’ I do have to admit that I own one other ‘The Art of…’ books and that is ‘The Art of Mulan’ by Jeff Kurtti. I had checked out the book from my local library and was so taken by it that when the opportunity to purchase a used copy of the book at a collectibles store I frequent presented itself I jumped on it. Not only is ‘Mulan’ one of my favorite Disney movies, I enjoy and own a large portion of Jeff Kurtti’s books on Disney.

Anyway, back to my lucky day. I walked out of the store with all three books and have them in the queue to read. I spent the other day leafing through each of them and re-affirmed my decision to get them all. Now I have to decide when the timing will be right to make another trip to the outlet mall. Too soon and the stock will not have turned over, but wait to long and I might miss something I wanted. I guess that is the price you have to pay. Maybe it’s time to see if the libraries have received anything new…

About Mike

I'm an Engineer most of the time but if I can sneak away from the job I enjoy visiting/reading about/learning everything Disney, playing video games as long as I can stop and think about them, reading science fiction and my newest fascination is photography.
This entry was posted in books, Disney, Jeff Kurtti. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

